UCSD Geisel Library

The University of California, San Diego is one of nine campuses of the University of California. UC San Diego curricula and programs have been singled out for top rankings in national surveys at both undergraduate and graduate levels. Rankings by the National Research Council have placed UC San Diego among the top ten of all doctoral granting institutions in the nation. In terms of Federal research and developmental funding, it is currently in the top six.


Department of Psychiatry, School of Medicine.

The Department of Psychiatry was established in 1970 and has over 130 full-time faculty members. A primary objective of the Department of Psychiatry at UC San Diego is to offer an eclectic program of training that emphasizes the integration of relevant biological, psychological, family and preventive medicine, and sociological variables in the understanding of human behavior. In addition to the psychologists and psychiatrists on the JDP program faculty in the department, the JDP program faculty also includes UC San Diego researchers and clinicians with appointments in the Departments of Neuroscience, Family and Preventive Medicine, Pediatrics, Surgery, Psychology, and Cognitive Science.