SDSU Hardy Tower

San Diego State University, established in 1897, is the third largest institution among the 21 campuses of The California State University system, as well as one of the largest in the nation, with over 35,000 undergraduate and graduate students. The University offers undergraduate studies leading to bachelor’s degrees in than 85 areas, master’s degrees in more than 75 areas of study, and the Ph.D. in thirteen disciplinary areas as well as the Ed.D. and the Aud.D.

Department of Psychology

The Department of Psychology was established in the 1920’s with two faculty members, and has grown into one of the two largest in the University, with more than 1900 undergraduate majors. There are 45 full-time faculty, 23 of whom are JDP Faculty. The SDSU/UC San Diego Joint Doctoral Program in Clinical Psychology is the only one of its kind in the California State University system. The Psychology Department at SDSU is one of the top five Psychology Departments in the nation in the amount of funding from the National Institutes of Health.